Learning and Teaching Matters

Archive for April 2008

Toby Tyrrell (NOCS) and his team were awarded LTEF money, matched by WUN funds, to develop their online models of changing earth.

A virtual seminar took place on Wednesday 16th April at 5pm BST (9am US Pacific, 11am US Central, 12noon US Eastern, 6pm Europe) to showcase this Special Earth Systems eLearning. The speakers were:
Toby Tyrrell (University of Southampton) – on web-enabled models of low complexity that can run in real time
Andy Ridgwell (University of Bristol) – on the GENIE model (Earth system model of intermediate complexity)
Mark Chandler (University of Wisconsin – Madison) – on EdGCM software
Further details are accessible via the series website http://www.wun.ac.uk/horizons/earthsystems/ (username: earthsystems, password: molecular)

Advertisements

This years Learning and Teaching Week ‘Strategies in Action’ was a big success. It was well attended and there were excellent sessions with a lot of useful discussion. It was also a great opportunity for all those interested in developing education to get together. If you attended the week and would like to leave feedback there is still time to do so, details of how to give feedback can be found on our web site

University Inclusion Forum Event: April 30th 12-2pm Building 67

All Students are Diverse: Investigating inclusion in higher education

Phil Gravestock, from University of Gloucestershire will be presenting his views regarding diversity and inclusion in higher education.

Phil is Head of Learning Enhancement and Technology Support at the University of Gloucestershire and has been working at a national level in the area of inclusion and disability for a number of years. He is Co-editor of Developing an inclusive curriculum: a guide for lecturers and was a project member of the Geography Discipline Network- Inclusive Curriculum Project

Abstract ” Sorry to shatter any illusions but, like the Loch Ness Monster, unicorns and Father Christmas, the ‘typical student’ does not exist. All students are diverse. Higher education is not a closed system, and all students will bring different aspects of their external experiences with them when they attend any of our sessions. To date most of the initiatives looking at diversity have focused on particular groups of students (e.g. disabled students, international students), and have considered strategies that will assist these students to participate to their full potential in higher education. The time has come to take a step back from these initiatives, and to consider how these strategies can also have a positive impact on the wider student body. This session aims to encourage participants to reflect on the nature of students in higher education, and to consider practices that might enable students’ participation.”